skip to Main Content

Much of Southeast U.S. exempted from hours of service rules ahead of Dorian

Ten southeastern states, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands are included in an emergency declaration issued by trucking regulators as Hurricane Dorian approaches the east coast of Florida.

“This Emergency Declaration addresses anticipated emergency conditions creating a need for immediate transportation of supplies, equipment, fuel and persons and provides necessary relief,” according to a bulletin issued by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) on August 29.

Affected states included in order are Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee and Virginia. Also included in the order are U.S. territories Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands.

The order will exempt trucking companies and owner-operators from the agency’s hours-of-service (HOS) regulations to give available freight capacity more flexibility to provide supplies, equipment and fuel in response to the storm.

Read the full story >>

Back To Top